Articles

You are very beautiful

In Family, Personal on December 7, 2006 by Eliacín

In a recent conversation with a friend about my new adventures on racial and ethnic explorations with my 4 year old daughter, she told me that it took her until her adulthood to accept that she is beautiful.

As I see my little taino-african-anglo daughter grow and reflect on society ideals of beauty I can’t help but wonder – How do I teach her to disappoint and disorient a system that reinforces ideals of beauty that are market driven and racist? How do I teach her to inoculate herself from the pain that she might experience as a bi-racial child?

Leave a Reply

